Syndicate content

Welcome to Books R Us, a recommended reading blog from InfoSoup librarians and users and home to A Year of Listening Dangerously, the 2014 InfoSoup Reading Challenge! Find a great book to read next, add your own reviews, and check out our book related resources such as NoveList and BookLetters.

Title: Longbourn
Author: Jo Baker

Pride and Prejudice is told from the servants' point of view, centering on Sarah, a young house maid who longs for adventure and love. When a young man suddenly appears and takes on the job of footman, Sarah is both frustrated and pleased with his presence. Meanwhile, the handsome servant of Mr. Bingley vies for her attention, and Sarah struggles to decide the direction of her life when she suddenly has options. Readers who enjoyed Pride and Prejudice will appreciate the details of setting and plot in this book that slow closely mirror the original. Baker recreates the period with an entirely different focus of what goes on behind the scenes of Austin's grand and refined story.

Audiobook Review
Author: David Baldacci

Another good David Baldacci book. I could read this authors work over and over again. I have to make myself move onto someone else.

Mad River

Title: Mad River
Author: John Sandford

What a page turner this one turned out to be. I've read a few works by this author, but this book made me make a list of books by him to read in the future.

Red Wolf

Title: Red Wolf
Author: Annika Bengtzon

This was a new author for me. I have liked the Scandinavian authors in the past. Not sure if I will read her works again or not.

Audiobook Review
Author: Michael Connelly

I'm a big fan of this author, but wasn't as happy with this particular book and with some of his past works. Just didn't seem to keep my interest.

Author: James Patterson

This was for our local book club; we all picked a non-fiction and gave a book report on it. I usually like James Patterson, so I thought I'd give him a try with this non-fiction. Very, very interesting and a great read. Thanks book club for stretching me once again.

Audiobook Review
Author: Todd Burpo

Wow, chilling listen. It was so interesting to hear directly from the author on this book. This is a remarkable story.

Audiobook Review
Author: Kate Wilhelm

I've never read or listened to anything by this author before. It was very enjoyable and a good mystery.

bookcover
Author: James Rollins

Rollins has created a tight unit with Tucker and Kane, almost joined at the hip.  Tucker Wayne could be the soldier you know that came back from action. The characters are strong and engaging.  The situations they get into are tight  with near escapes.  I enjoyed the action but miss some of the historical and scientific bent that Rollins is noted for in his Sigma Force series.    A story that has you wondering could this be true today.

I look forward to where Rollins will be taking this series.

bookcover
Author: Hannah Dennison

This takes place in the English countryside.  And there are some murders involved, but the characters are slightly demented, strange, odd, bizarre and perplexing.  This is not a scary intense who-dun-it typical mystery.  I thought more description would bring definition of why these people were so eccentric but as you keep reading their backgrounds come to light and give insight to their behavior.   The author has some strange turns and twists in the plot but everything adds up to a cozy mystery.