Read @ InfoSoup

Read @ InfoSoup is your source for book and library related resources, including book reviews, book lists, information about library summer reading programs, web sites for readers, & more!

Pride and Prejudice Revisited

bookcover
Title: Longbourn
Author: Jo Baker

Pride and Prejudice is told from the servants' point of view, centering on Sarah, a young house maid who longs for adventure and love. When a young man suddenly appears and takes on the job of footman, Sarah is both frustrated and pleased with his presence. Meanwhile, the handsome servant of Mr. Bingley vies for her attention, and Sarah struggles to decide the direction of her life when she suddenly has options. Readers who enjoyed Pride and Prejudice will appreciate the details of setting and plot in this book that slow closely mirror the original. Baker recreates the period with an entirely different focus of what goes on behind the scenes of Austin's grand and refined story.